Belgium map Our Belgian network Our foreign network

Strategic anchoring of CSR

From the outset, chambers have opted for viewing CSR and sustainable enterprise as a strategic approach for companies and organisations to approach social challenges positively. They endorse the definition of the Belgian CSR reference framework, where CSR is seen as “a process whereby enterprises voluntarily endeavour for improvement on a business and social level by systematically including environmental and social considerations in an integrated and coherent manner in business operations as a whole, with consultation with the enterprise’s stakeholders or interested parties being part of this process”.

We also find this strategic approach with QUADRANT and with BUSINEXT.
For more information, please contact Mrs Veerle Geeraerts: vgeeraerts [at] belgianchambers.be

 

 

quadrant_logo new (logo only)

QUADRANT – CSR learning networks

Between 2008 and 2015, various chambers of commerce organised QUADRANT CSR learning networks. The core aim of QUARANT is to make companies aware concerning CSR, familiarising them with the strategic added value of this and bringing them to a CSR action plan in a low-threshold way. In this respect, the core activities of the enterprise itself are always used as a basis.

The methodology chosen for QUARANT was that of the learning networks. After all, based on PLATO the chambers have for years been familiar with the concept of learning networks and peer learning, and know this is the best way of having businesses “learn”. If a business sees or hears in practice how another business tackles an issue, it is sooner inclined to draw lessons from this. This makes other entrepreneurs a sounding board, a source of inspiration.

Under the guidance of Sustenuto, a consultancy with years of experience in the field of CSR, the participants in QUADRANT convened six times and that way completed an entire learning process. What does sustainability mean for your own organisation? What can be learned from good practices? How is a CSR action plan developed? What do my stakeholders think about this? Based on an initial self-assessment, there follows a sustainability analysis whereby each company examines the impacts of its core activities and seeks out solutions that can have a positive effect on people, the environment and society. The result is an action plan that is discussed with the stakeholders and with other fellow entrepreneurs.

The QUADRANT learning networks were created with the financial support of the FPS Social Integration. In total, 38 learning networks were organised. This led to the training of 390 businesses.

Capture Businext logo iets vetter 2707

BUSINEXT – Innovation for society & growth

Whereas QUADRANT still assumed a defensive approach to CSR, i.e. eliminating negative impacts of business activities and reinforcing the positive impacts, with BUSINEXT the offensive card is resolutely played: searching for answers to social challenges delivering added value for both the company and for society. Shared value, in other words.

With BUSINEXT we aim to encourage companies to examine their activities from a different angle, based on various social trends such as an ageing population, poverty and diversity, and to respond to this with innovative products and services. BUSINEXT operates around social innovation and new business models; it wishes to assist companies in converting challenges into business opportunities. It was once again decided to work with a learning process in which several businesses jointly learn and collaborate under guidance from Oksigen Lab and i-propeller, coaches with years of expertise in social business innovation and shared value.

BUSINEXT is organised by the Chambers of Commerce Vlaams-Brabant and Luxembourg belge, with the financial support of the FPS Social Integration.

Survey on the EU-Canada trade agreement
Bent u voorbereid op de Brexit?
be.connected, an online service for your international expansion
BLCCA Academy 2018
ICC Belgium – Compliance Pro training

Belgium map Notre réseau belge Notre réseau à l’étranger

Ancrage stratégique de la RSE

Dès le début, les chambres ont choisi de considérer la RSE et l’entrepreneuriat durable comme une approche stratégique permettant aux entreprises et aux organisations d’apporter une réponse positive aux défis sociétaux. Elles souscrivent à la définition du cadre de référence belge de la RSE, laquelle s’entend comme « un processus permanent d’amélioration dans le cadre duquel les entreprises intègrent de manière volontaire, systématique et cohérente des considérations d’ordre social, environnemental et économique dans la gestion globale de l’entreprise ; à cet égard, la concertation avec les parties prenantes de l’entreprise fait partie intégrante du processus ».

Cette approche stratégique se retrouve à la fois dans QUADRANT et dans BUSINEXT.

 

 

quadrant_logo new (logo only)

QUADRANT – Réseaux d’apprentissage RSE

Entre 2008 et 2015, plusieurs chambres de commerce ont organisé les réseaux d’apprentissage RSE QUADRANT. La mission-clé de QUADRANT consiste à sensibiliser les entreprises à la RSE, leur permettre de découvrir la valeur ajoutée stratégique qu’elle apporte, et leur permettre d’adopter un plan d’action RSE accessible. La démarche part toujours du cœur du métier de l’entreprise concernée.

La méthodologie choisie pour QUADRANT est celle des réseaux d’apprentissage. En effet, PLATO permet depuis de nombreuses années aux chambres d’être familiarisées au concept des réseaux d’apprentissage et de l’enseignement par les pairs et elles savent que cela représente la meilleure façon de faire « apprendre » les entrepreneurs. Lorsqu’un entrepreneur voit ou entend en pratique comment un de ses pairs résout un problème, il a plus facilement tendance à en tirer les leçons. Les entrepreneurs sont donc une ‘caisse de résonance’, une source d’inspiration.

Accompagné par Sustenuto, un bureau de conseil ayant des années d’expérience en matière de RSE, les participants de QUADRANT se sont réunis à six reprises pendant une demi-journée et ont ainsi parcouru un trajet d’apprentissage complet. Que signifie la durabilité pour votre entreprise ? Que peut-on apprendre grâce aux bonnes pratiques ? Comment développer un plan d’action RSE ? Qu’est-ce que mes parties prenantes vont en penser ? Une première auto-évaluation est suivie par une analyse de durabilité qui permet à chaque entreprise d’analyser les impacts de ses activités-clé et de chercher des solutions pouvant influencer positivement l’être humain, l’environnement et la société. Le résultat est un plan d’action qui est discuté avec les parties prenantes ainsi que d’autres dirigeants d’entreprise.

Les réseaux d’apprentissage QUADRANT ont vu le jour avec le soutien financier du SPP Intégration sociale. Au total, 38 réseaux d’apprentissage ont été organisés et ont permis de former 390 entrepreneurs.

Capture Businext logo iets vetter 2707

BUSINEXT – Innovation for society & growth

Là où QUADRANT partait encore d’une approche défensive de la RSE, autrement dit l’élimination des impacts négatifs des activités de l’entreprise et le renforcement de leurs impacts positifs, BUSINEXT joue résolument la carte offensive : recherche de réponses aux défis sociétaux qui apportent une valeur ajoutée tant à l’entreprise qu’à la société. Autrement dit, on parle ici de valeur partagée.

Avec BUSINEXT, nous souhaitons inciter les entreprises à modifier la manière dont elles considèrent leurs activités sous l’angle de diverses tendances sociétales telles que le vieillissement de la population, la pauvreté et la diversité, et à y répondre par des produits et services innovants. BUSINEXT travaille sur l’innovation sociale et les modèles de business novateurs, pour aider les entreprises à transformer les défis en opportunités économiques. Ici encore, la méthode choisie est celle du trajet d’apprentissage grâce auquel plusieurs entrepreneurs apprennent ensemble sous la houlette d’Oksigen Lab et d’i-propeller, des coachs forts d’années d’expertise dans l’innovation en social business et en valeur partagée.

BUSINEXT est organisé par les chambres de commerce du Brabant flamand et du Luxembourg belge, avec le soutien financier du SPP Intégration sociale.

Êtes-vous prêt pour le Brexit?
be.connected, une nouvelle application pour votre expansion internationale
BLCCA Academy 2018
(EN) European Parliament of Enterprises 2018
ICC Belgique – Formation Compliance Pro