Belgium map Our Belgian network Our foreign network

Origin

A product’s origin relates to the country where it was produced. In other words, it is a product’s nationality. This concept is essential for customs formalities concerning handling goods imported or manufactured in the European Union, or for goods being exported to third countries. We draw a distinction between non-preferential and preferential origin. In Belgium the Federal Public Service Economy is the competent authority for origin.

Non-preferential origin (source: FPS Economy)

Among other things, the non-preferential origin is important for:

  1. the application of any quota;
  2. the application of anti-dumping rights;
  3. if an indication of origin (PDF, 458.37 Kb) was introduced to the product or its packaging (e.g. “made in Belgium”);
  4. if political measures are taken such as boycotts or embargoes.

The certificate of origin is an official administrative document stating the product’s country of origin. When importing, this document must sometimes be presented to the customs authorities of certain third countries. Within the framework of a letter of credit, it is necessary to be able to receive payment of the consignment.

The certificates of origin are issued in Belgium by bodies authorised by the Minister of Economy, in particular the chambers of commerce and Antwerp World Diamond Centre for diamonds.

Determining the country of origin is fairly straightforward if the product was entirely obtained in one country. These, for instance, include agricultural and horticultural produce. If raw materials and/or components for manufacturing products are from two or more countries, this can cause problems for determining the origin. The origin of the goods can be determined in this case, thanks to the origin rules, or the methods as a whole based on the composition of the products and/or production method,

Preferential origin (source: FPS Economy)

The European Union has concluded trade agreements with various countries, in which favourable import rights are provided. A Belgian importer is thus able to ensure its customers outside the EU are also eligible for a reduction or exemption from import fees. Among other things, the exporter must provide evidence that the exported goods fall under the preferential origin arrangement. This evidence is the EUR.1, EUR-MED, certificate, or a declaration on the invoice send along with the goods exported. The EUR.1 and EUR-MED certificates are issued by the Customs and Excise Administration.

Both the preferential import rights for each country of origin (when importing into the EU) and the import duties in the export countries can be found in the European Commission’s Market Access Database.

If an economic operator imports goods from developing countries, he is also able to enjoy the General Preferential System (GPS). Within the scope of the GPS, the EU assigns unilateral tariff preferences to certain goods of beneficiary countries. The proof of origin is the FORM A certificate.

(NL) Test of uw bedrijf klaar is voor de Brexit
be.connected, an online service for your international expansion
BLCCA Academy 2018
(NL) Belgische ondernemers laten hun stem horen in Europees Parlement
ICC Belgium – Compliance Pro training

Belgium map Notre réseau belge Notre réseau à l’étranger

Origine

L’origine d’un produit est liée au pays où il est fabriqué. Autrement dit, il s’agit de sa nationalité. Ce concept est essentiel pour le traitement douanier des marchandises importées ou fabriquées dans l’Union européenne, ou celles qui sont exportées à destination de pays tiers. Nous distinguons l’origine non-préférentielle et préférentielle. En Belgique, c’est le Service Public Fédéral Économie qui est compétent pour l’origine.

Origine non-préférentielle (source : SPF Économie)

L’origine non-préférentielle est notamment importante pour :

  1. l’application d’éventuels quotas
  2. l’application de droits anti-dumping;
  3. lorsqu’une indication du pays d’origine (PDF, 458.37 Kb)a été apposée sur le produit ou son emballage (p. ex. « made in Belgium »);
  4. lorsque des mesures politiques, tels qu’un boycott ou un embargo, sont prises

Le certificat d’origine est un document administratif officiel qui indique le pays d’où provient le produit. Lors de l’importation, il doit parfois être présenté aux autorités douanières de certains pays tiers. Dans le cadre d’un crédit documentaire, il est nécessaire pour  recevoir le paiement de l’envoi.
En Belgique, les certificats d’origine sont délivrés par des instances habilitées par le ministre de l’Économie, à savoir les chambres de commerce et l’Antwerp World Diamond Centre pour les diamants.

Déterminer le pays d’origine est relativement facile lorsque le produit est entièrement obtenu dans un seul pays. C’est par exemple le cas des produits agricoles et horticoles.

Déterminer le pays d’origine peut s’avérer plus difficile lorsque des matières premières et/ou des composants servant à fabriquer des produits sont originairesde deux ou plusieurs pays. Même dans ce cas, il est toutefois possible d’établir l’origine des marchandises grâce aux règles d’origine, qui incluent l’ensemble des méthodes basées sur la composition des produits et/ou la méthode de production.

Origine préférentielle (source : SPF Économie)

L’Union a conclu avec divers pays des accords commerciaux  prévoyant des droits d’importation préférentiels. Ainsi, un exportateur belge peut par exemple veiller à ce que son client situé hors de l’UE puisse bénéficier d’une réduction ou d’une dispense des droits d’importation. L’exportateur doit notamment fournir la preuve que les marchandises qu’il exporte sont soumises à la règlementation de l’origine préférentielle. Cette preuve est le certificat EUR.1, EUR-MED, ou une déclaration sur la facture accompagnant les biens exportés. Les certificats EUR.1 et EUR-MED sont délivrés par l’Administration des Douanes et Accises.

Vous trouverez tant les droits d’importation préférentiels par pays d’origine (en cas d’importation vers l’UE) que les droits d’importation dans les pays destinataires dans la Market Access Database de la Commission européenne.

L’opérateur économique qui importe des marchandises depuis des pays en développement peut également bénéficier du système de préférences généralisées (SPG). Dans le cadre de ce dernier, l’UE octroie des préférences tarifaires unilatérales à certaines marchandises de pays bénéficiaires. La preuve d’origine est le certificat FORM A

Êtes-vous prêt pour le Brexit?
be.connected, une nouvelle application pour votre expansion internationale
BLCCA Academy 2018
(EN) European Parliament of Enterprises 2018
ICC Belgique – Formation Compliance Pro