Digital ATA carnet for a Belgian company is a world premiere!

This week marked an important milestone in the digitization of the ATA carnet, an international customs document that allows goods to be temporarily imported. This document, which until now was only available on paper, has now been given a fully-fledged digital counterpart. A company from Leuven was the first to use a digital ATA carnet at the Swiss customs in Zurich.

An ATA carnet allows its holder to temporarily import products into a country without paying import duties and taxes. For companies that participate in trade fairs or take material with them abroad, an ATA carnet is an important simplification: no hassle at customs, no payment of guarantees. ATA carnets are issued by the chambers of commerce, and they also guarantee that the goods will be exported back to Belgium. This guarantee is part of a larger set of agreements between the World Customs Organisation and the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) in Paris. It is the latter who made the  ATA carnet digitization possible. Instead of having to travel with a set of documents that has to be stamped each time by the customs services of the importing and exporting countries, all information is now available via an app that customers can load on their smartphones.

Developing this app has been a work of several years and its deployment is currently in a pilot phase. Belgium is one of the five countries participating in this pilot phase. “For the Belgian Chambers of commerce, joining this ICC project was an obvious choice”, says Christophe Coulie of the Federation of Belgian Chambers of Commerce who coordinates the project in Belgium. “After all, we are fully committed to digitization for the sake of greater security and user-friendliness. With a digital carnet, you can follow the entire journey of a carnet in real time and anticipate possible problems.”

The Belgian Chambers of commerce issue more than 1,700 ATA carnets each year. The follow-up of these carnets is a time-consuming activity for both customs and chambers. And with the United Kingdom leaving the EU and becoming a third country, the number of ATA carnets will increase considerably: an online application that facilitates this follow-up is certainly not a luxury.

Tweet
Eurochambres survey: EU Free trade agreements insufficiently exploited
Compliance Pro Training cycle: save the date!
The European Single Market still has many shortcomings
Is your business ready for Brexit?
Belgian Chambers and FPS Economy sign a partnership agreement
ARCHIPELAGO: the second call for proposals is now open!

Une première mondiale belge: le carnet ATA digital

Cette semaine a marqué une étape importante dans la numérisation du carnet ATA, un document douanier international qui permet l’importation temporaire de marchandises. Ce document, qui n’était jusqu’à présent disponible qu’en version papier, est désormais doté d’une version numérique indépendante. Une entreprise de Louvain a été la première à utiliser un carnet ATA numérique à la douane de Zurich, en Suisse.

Un carnet ATA permet à son titulaire d’importer temporairement des produits dans un pays sans payer de droits et taxes d’importation. Pour les entreprises qui participent à des foires ou qui emportent du matériel à l’étranger, un carnet ATA est une simplification importante: aucune complication lors du passage aux douanes, aucun paiement de garanties. Les carnets ATA sont délivrés par les chambres de commerce, qui garantissent également que les marchandises seront réexportées en Belgique. Cette garantie fait partie d’un ensemble plus large d’accords établis entre l’Organisation mondiale des douanes et la Chambre de commerce internationale (CCI) à Paris. C’est cette dernière qui s’est chargée de la numérisation du carnet ATA. désormais, au lieu de devoir voyager avec des documents qui doivent être estampillés à chaque passage auprès des services douaniers des pays d’importation et d’exportation, toutes les informations sont désormais disponibles via une application que l’on peut télécharger sur son smartphone.

Le développement de cette application a été un travail s’étalant sur plusieurs années et son déploiement est actuellement en phase pilote. Cinq pays participent à cette phase pilote, dont la Belgique. « Pour les Chambres de commerce belges, faire partie de ce projet de la CCi était une évidence. Après tout, nous sommes pleinement engagés dans la numérisation, qui apporte plus de sécurité et de facilité d’utilisation à nos utilisateurs. Avec un carnet numérique, on peut suivre l’ensemble du parcours d’un carnet en temps réel et anticiper d’éventuels problèmes », explique Christophe Coulie, de la Fédération des Chambres de Commerce belges, qui coordonne le projet en Belgique.

Les Chambres de commerce belges émettent plus de 1.700 carnets ATA par an. Le suivi de ces carnets est une activité chronophage, tant pour les douanes que pour les chambres. Lorsque le Royaume-Uni aura quitté l’UE pour devenir un pays tiers, le nombre de carnets ATA augmentera considérablement: une application en ligne qui facilite ce suivi est loin d’être un luxe.

Tweet
Votre entreprise est-elle prête pour le Brexit ?
Covid-19: Mesures de soutien aux entreprises à l’étranger
Covid-19: Cas de force majeure?
Attachés douaniers: réservez votre entretien individuel!
Accès libre à eTranslation, l’outil de traduction automatique de la Commission européenne!