The European Single Market still has many shortcomings

A recent survey of their members by Chambers of commerce shows that 70% of companies believe that the European Single Market is not yet sufficiently integrated. This survey is part of a larger project conducted by all European chambers and coordinated by Eurochambres.

This Eurochambres report provides an overview of the obstacles faced by companies operating in the European single market. For Belgian companies, these obstacles are first and foremost the complexity of administrative procedures, followed by difficult access to information on the regulations in force and, finally, differences between national laws on products and services.

The companies that were polled also proposed a number of solutions to overcome these obstacles. While the drastic reduction of administrative formalities is the most common measure proposed, the provision of information on procedures and formalities in the different Member States on a common EU-wide portal follows directly. Another major simplification measure would be to make it possible to carry out as many procedures as possible online. In addition, the Commission and the Member States must work better together to implement and enforce European legislation.

The full Eurochambres report is available here
The Factsheet is available here

Tweet
Eurochambres survey: EU Free trade agreements insufficiently exploited
ARCHIPELAGO: the second call for proposals is now open!
Is your business ready for Brexit?
Belgian Chambers and FPS Economy sign a partnership agreement
Digital ATA carnet for a Belgian company is a world premiere!
Compliance Pro Training cycle: save the date!

Le marché intérieur européen présente encore de nombreuses lacunes

Un sondage réalisé récemment par les chambres de commerce belges auprès de leurs membres révèle que 70 % des entreprises estiment que le marché unique européen n’est pas encore suffisamment intégré. Ce sondage fait partie d’un projet plus large mené par toutes les chambres européennes et coordonné par Eurochambres.

Ce rapport Eurochambres donne un aperçu des obstacles auxquels se heurtent les entreprises qui mènent leurs activités sur le marché unique européen. Pour les entreprises belges, ces freins sont en premier lieu la complexité des procédures administratives, suivie d’un accès difficile à l’information sur la réglementation en vigueur et enfin, de divergences entre les législations nationales sur les produits et services.

Les entreprises interrogées ont également proposé un certain nombre de solutions pour surmonter ces obstacles. Si la réduction drastique des formalités administratives est la mesure la plus souvent proposée, elle est suivie de près par la mise en ligne, sur un portail commun à toute l’Union, d’informations sur les procédures et les formalités nécessaires dans les différents États membres. Autre piste de simplification majeure, la possibilité d’effectuer autant de procédures que possible en ligne. En outre, la Commission et les États membres doivent mieux collaborer pour mettre en œuvre la législation européenne et la faire appliquer.

Le rapport complet d’Eurochambres est disponible ici (EN)
Notre traduction de la fiche d’information est disponible ici

Tweet
Covid-19: Cas de force majeure?
Covid-19: Mesures de soutien aux entreprises à l’étranger
Aidez l’Organisation Mondiale de la Santé à combattre le Covid-19!
Covid-19 : Nous pouvons vous aider!