New version of DigiChambers goes live

After more than two years of intensive preparation, the new version of DigiChambers went online on 3/02.

DigiChambers is the online application with which the Belgian Chambers of Commerce issue non-preferential certificates of origin on behalf of the FPS Economy. A certificate of origin confirms the place where the goods were produced and is requested upon import by the customs authorities of e.g. Russia, Turkey and the Gulf countries. In a globalized economy where production chains extend over several countries, determining the exact origin of a product is not always an easy task. However, chambers of commerce work closely with companies and know their production processes, which puts them in a good position to verify this origin. This is why, in most countries, the government has entrusted the issuing of certificates of origin to chambers of commerce. This is also the case in Belgium, where the chambers issue more than 400,000 certificates per year.

The first version of DigiChambers dates from 2009. At that time, the Belgian chambers were a forerunner in the history of digitization and were supported in this by the FPS Economy and recognized by the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC). DigiChambers has always succeeded in maintaining its leading position by constantly adding new functionalities and integrating with companies’ ERP systems. “However, it is not possible to modify an existing application indefinitely, which is why the time had come for a thorough overhaul of DigiChambers. We spent the necessary time, discussed with all parties involved and were guided by Deloitte in determining the requirements of DigiChambers 2.0 and in choosing the developer,” says Wouter Van Gulck, General Manager of the Federation of Belgian Chambers of Commerce, which coordinates the issuing of certificates of origin by the chambers and manages DigiChambers.

For the development of the new version of DigiChambers, D Soft, a software company based in Merelbeke, specialised in document management software and developer of the first version of DigiChambers, was again called upon. “The new version of DigiChambers is more intuitive and user-friendly,” says Christophe Coulie of the Federation, who closely followed the entire development process. “With a good API, we still want to facilitate communication with our customers’ systems and we have also designed DigiChambers in such a way that new technologies such as Blockchain can be integrated.”

DigiChambers is used every month by more than 1,800 companies. This represents almost 90% of the certificates of origin. The use of DigiChambers is voluntary for companies, but the ambition is indeed to move towards full digitisation.

Tweet
Covid-19: Foreign government support measures for businesses
Covid-19: A case of force majeure?
Is your business ready for Brexit?
Customs attachés: book your individual meeting!
Free access to eTranslation, the European Commission automated translation tool!

Nouvelle version de DigiChambers mise en service

Après plus de deux ans de préparation intensive, la nouvelle version de DigiChambers a été mise en ligne le 3/02.

DigiChambers est l’application en ligne avec laquelle les chambres de commerce belges délivrent des certificats d’origine non préférentiels au nom du SPF Economie. Un certificat d’origine confirme l’endroit où les marchandises ont été produites et est demandé lors de leur importation par les autorités douanières de la Russie, de la Turquie et des pays du Golfe par exemple. Dans une économie mondialisée où les chaînes de production s’étendent sur plusieurs pays, déterminer l’origine exacte d’un produit n’est pas toujours une tâche facile. Cependant, les chambres de commerce sont proches des entreprises et connaissent leurs processus de production, ce qui les met en bonne position pour vérifier cette origine. C’est pourquoi, dans la plupart des pays, le gouvernement a confié la délivrance des certificats d’origine aux chambres de commerce. C’est également le cas en Belgique, où les chambres délivrent plus de 400.000 certificats par an.

La première version de DigiChambers date de 2009. A l’époque, les chambres belges étaient un précurseur dans l’histoire de la digitalisation et étaient soutenues en cela par le SPF Economie et reconnues par la Chambre de Commerce Internationale (ICC). DigiChambers a toujours réussi à maintenir sa position de leader en ajoutant constamment de nouvelles fonctionnalités et en s’intégrant aux systèmes ERP des entreprises. « Cependant, il n’est pas possible de modifier indéfiniment une application existante, c’est pourquoi le moment était venu de modifier de fond en comble DigiChambers. Nous y avons consacré le temps nécessaire, nous avons discuté avec toutes les parties concernées et nous avons été guidés par Deloitte pour déterminer les exigences de DigiChambers 2.0 et dans le choix du développeur « , déclare Wouter Van Gulck, directeur général de la Fédération des chambres de commerce belges, qui coordonne la délivrance des certificats d’origine par les chambres et gère DigiChambers.

Pour le développement de la nouvelle version de DigiChambers, D Soft, une société de logiciels basée à Merelbeke, spécialisée dans les logiciels de gestion documentaire et développeur de la première version de DigiChambers a à nouveau été sollicitée. « La nouvelle version de DigiChambers est plus intuitive et conviviale « , déclare Christophe Coulie de la Fédération, qui a suivi de près l’ensemble du processus de développement. « Avec une bonne API, nous voulons encore faciliter la communication avec les systèmes de nos clients et nous avons également conçu DigiChambers de telle sorte que de nouvelles technologies telles que Blockchain puissent être intégrées. »

DigiChambers est utilisé chaque mois par plus de 1.800 entreprises. Cela représente près de 90 % des certificats d’origine. L’utilisation de DigiChambers est volontaire pour les entreprises, mais l’ambition est bel et bien de tendre vers une digitalisation complète.

Tweet
Doing business in Luxembourg
Une première mondiale belge: le carnet ATA digital
Le marché intérieur européen présente encore de nombreuses lacunes
Sondage Eurochambres: les accords de libre-échange européens pas suffisamment exploités
Journée du commerce Flandre – Pays-Bas, Turnhout